Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: An idea: A community driven online Retro Gaming magazine

Default An idea: A community driven online Retro Gaming magazine

After FocusRS posted in the Chameleon thread about how he just got scammed by a certain website and magazine owner, I think I have had my fill. We need a respectable gaming magazine. Retro Magazine in the UK is a great choice, but I am wanting to do something unique for the US audience, and maybe even a worldwide audience. However, I am a nobody in the retro community, so I am going to need the communities help.

The goal: a downloadable PDF magazine for free that can be read on tablets or PC. Possibly also releasing via the Kindle store. Release would be tri-monthly.

I have some layout experience in the past with Adobe Pagemaker, and am currently downloading Adobe Indesign to see if I can use my old skills in that program. I am preparing to reach out to whatever retro gaming fans and luminaries I know to see if they are interested in writing articles, either one offs or features every issue. Everyone on Retro Gaming Roundup and Retro Review Revolution forums are invited to have a stab at writing an article. I know our show hosts are always busy with the podcasts, but they are invited as well. I'll try to handle all of the layout work. I am considering the titles Retro Retread, RetroBits, Old-School Gamer, or Gaming Classics. Any advice will be taken! Is there anyone on this forum who would maybe want something to do with this project?

Blog Entries

Stay tuned for news on a magazine..............
    Before you insult a man, walk a mile in his shoes. That way, when you insult him, you'll be a mile away, and have his shoes.
    Jamesonline.net
    RetroGaming RoundUp
    Follow us on Facebook

Works for me. If there's any area I can help in let me know.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G530A using Tapatalk