Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: What XBOX should i buy if i intend to create a media centre?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Herrin, Illinois
    Posts
    837
    Blog Entries
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by miner2049er View Post
    If you are fitting a new drive you have to go from a softmod to a hardware mod with modchip.
    0_o I had a 120GB hard drive in my old soft modded Xbox. I don't know how it was was done (a friend of mine did it) but I know it wasn't hard modded.
    David "Dhalamar" Miller
    http://www.wastedseconds.com - Wasted Seconds
    The Wasted Seconds Podcast at http://podcast.wastedseconds.com
    iTunes http://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/t...st/id377809676
    PSN : DhalamarWS
    Steam : Dhalamar
    OnLive : Dhalamar

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Seoul S.Korea
    Posts
    884
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default

    There are tons of tutorials on how to do it for both hard and soft modded xboxes. A hard mod isn't needed but if it's not hard modded I believe you have to own a certain game like one of the Splinter Cell games that contain an exploit. Just google "put a bigger hard drive in an xbox" and you should find some tutorials. You will need a torx screwdriver and if it is hard modded you will need to burn a cd of the bios software. So if it is chipped you will need to know what chip it is. I believe you will have to hook your new hard drive to a computer to format it for your xbox.

    Here's a site with great resources but again it's old stuff because the original xbox scene is long dead. http://www.xbox-scene.com/xbox-tutorials.php

    UK is right you can use a computer to share video files on a network but of course you will need a wired network near your TV since the original xbox doesn't have wifi.

    For just videos the PS3 is so much easier to share videos with so you could use that and you don't even need to hack it in any way. There is a special DLNA program that will allow you to convert videos on the fly from your computer to your ps3 console over a wired or wireless network. This will work on a PC or a Mac.
    http://www.ps3hax.net/2011/06/releas...server-1-25-0/

    Any file format you can play on your computer can be streamed to your ps3!

    Your PS3 will just find it through it's DLNA connection and it doesn't matter what firmware you are on. No hacking needed.
    Last edited by indieseoul; 17-06-11 at 03:07.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    4,401
    Blog Entries
    45

    Default

    You can fit a bigger drive with a softmod but it is a lot of frigging around beforehand and you have to have the original drive available. Plus if you want to change the hard drive again you have to do the same frigging around.

    If I was upgrading a hard drive, I would just do the hard mod.
    Before you insult a man, walk a mile in his shoes. That way, when you insult him, you'll be a mile away, and have his shoes.
    Jamesonline.net
    RetroGaming RoundUp
    Follow us on Facebook

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Seoul S.Korea
    Posts
    884
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default

    I love your use of technical jargon like frigging around. I believe his xbox is already chipped based on the pm I got. Changing a hard drive requires extensive knowledge of frigging around but buying a modchip requires frigging around and 30 bucks for a modchip. Lots of chances to frig up your frigging xbox. Ha ha ha.

  5. #15
    Darkwood.killers Guest

    Default

    Thankyou for the advice once again i lhave lots to go on now, i know the Xbox is soft modded and when i boot up the Xbox the software called ' XBMC ' Boots up. At the moment it has a few Emulators however there a few arcade titles id like and it also plays PS1 titles which would require a bigger hard drive than i currently have to get a few good titles id like to go back to that i have in mint cond. I like the sound of accessing films from another source but im not as clever as you guys so that might take me a while. Its all good feedback and i have a little time to myself so i will enjoy looking into all of these avenues.

    im currently in the process of moving more North than Notts so im sorry for my late replies but thankyou all for talking to me its much appriciated.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    4,401
    Blog Entries
    45

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Darkwood.killers View Post
    it also plays PS1 titles which would require a bigger hard drive than i currently have
    Not sure how much its change but compatibility was low last time I looked into it.

    Quote Originally Posted by Darkwood.killers View Post
    I like the sound of accessing films from another source but im not as clever as you guys so that might take me a while.
    Piece of piss.

    Quote Originally Posted by Darkwood.killers View Post
    im currently in the process of moving more North than Notts so im sorry for my late replies but thankyou all for talking to me its much appriciated.
    Are you going to Derbyshire mi duck?
    Before you insult a man, walk a mile in his shoes. That way, when you insult him, you'll be a mile away, and have his shoes.
    Jamesonline.net
    RetroGaming RoundUp
    Follow us on Facebook

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Seoul S.Korea
    Posts
    884
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default

    Sharing video files over a network on both devices is easy as pie. The PS3 is the easiest. All you need is that program I linked above for your PC or Mac. It's very user friendly and it will ask you what folders of videos or music you want to share. You simply add the folders to be shared and then turn on your ps3. Then on your ps3 you will allow your PS3 to use Media server connect. Then your folders will show up on your xmb. You can share videos music or photos.

    From the playstation manual:http://manuals.playstation.net/docum...nnectdlna.html

    Whats great about the program I linked to above is that it will allow you to play any video format like: Divx, Xvid, Avi, Mkv, Vob, etc. If you plan on playing HD videos you will need either a fast wireless connection or a decent wired connection. If you have at least 5mbps on your wireless it should play great with no choppiness or buffering at all.

  8. #18
    Darkwood.killers Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by miner2049er View Post

    Are you going to Derbyshire mi duck?
    (im nearly moved now but im actualy in scotland, although after a couple of years we may move to derbyshire.) my internet is very limited hence my timing for replying to the forum is very slow but im very greatfull for help.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Virginia USA
    Posts
    3,954
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Not being a software guy I said fuckit and ordered a modchip and also a bigger HD. This is on an original Xbox I bought about a year ago mainly to play Steel Battalion, which is another compelling reason to get an Xbox. I figured if I had the thing I might as well set it up for EMU. It was dead easy, solder a couple of pads, swap the HD, and drop in the CD and select what I wanted. I installed all the emulators and did the DVD to HD which allows you to copy movies and games to the HD. That makes load times of games much better too. So the Xbox makes a great platform for media as well as emulation.

    And seriously, check out one of the best games I have EVER played. Steel Battalion is freakin amazing, you get to drive a mech simulator, a simulator for something that does not exist yet. As a pilot I spend some time in sims and trust me, this thing feels like a high end sim and you feel like your really piloting a mech!

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steel_Battalion
    Retrogaming Roundup Co-host and host of the Hardware Flashback.

    Follow us on Facebook!

    Email me with your hardware problems to be answered on the air; techquestions@retrogamingroundup.com

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Herrin, Illinois
    Posts
    837
    Blog Entries
    9

    Default

    Well, the different dashboards will mess up Steel Battalion as the humongoid controller on that game uses multiple button presses to achieve it's 50 million buttons. One of my friends played that on a modded Xbox and one of the commands on the huge controller would reset the system.

    Rebooting into the normal MS dashboard would probably fix that problem though.
    David "Dhalamar" Miller
    http://www.wastedseconds.com - Wasted Seconds
    The Wasted Seconds Podcast at http://podcast.wastedseconds.com
    iTunes http://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/t...st/id377809676
    PSN : DhalamarWS
    Steam : Dhalamar
    OnLive : Dhalamar

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Retro Gaming RoundUp