View RSS Feed

Trevor Wagner

Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days - Two Person Preview (T. Wagner, K. Hummons)

Rate this Entry

Kevin Hummons: I should preface this impression by stating that I have zero experience with Kane & Lynch. I’ve always been something of a distant observer but the series just never hit very high on my priorities list. However when I received a demo code for the Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days demo I wasn’t about to give up a chance to experience the duos latest shenanigans.

If you haven’t been following Dog Days allow me to catch you up to speed. The game takes place in Shanghai with the lovable psychopath Lynch taking the lead role as he prepares for the biggest job of his life. Hopefully this’ll be “the one” that grants him both his retirement and some peace. Of course, that would make for something of a shitty videogame so instead the job kinda goes crazy and, well, that’s all we really know.

As the demo began I was immediately introduced to the new style of Kane & Lynch which has really left an impression on gamers. It’s very sleazy with a grimy neon lit color palette and “shaky cam” influenced camera angles among other details that add to the underground China feel. The presentation is slick, unique, and ripe with fun little details like a pixilated censor when you execute someone or an occasional grainy camera filter that will kick into effect.