View RSS Feed

SteveSawyer

Front Mission Evolved Review

Rate this Entry

It didn't take much to get me interested in Front Mission Evolved. I was a huge Mechwarrior nut as a kid, and I may have been one of the few that played through almost every Armored Core game known to man with my younger brother, and both Zone of the Enders games. And don't even get me started on all the fond memories I have of Mech Assault and Mech Assault 2. In other words, you can hand me anything with giant robots in it, and I will play it from start to finish no questions asked. It was with that much commitment, that I started playing Front Mission Evolved.

(Front Mission Evolved calls their Mechs Walking Panzers called “Wanzers” with my sincerest apologies to Double Helix and Square-Enix, I just call them Mechs. My bad.)

I jumped right in, and had a pretty positive attitude throughout the whole game experience. The customization from the get go is detailed enough to keep most Mech purists engaged in the details, though it never approaches the insane levels of micro-management that have made Armored Core games so wildly inaccessible to wider audiences. Front Mission however manages to make building, and customizing a fun and engaging process without ever feeling overwhelming. There's also a great amount of parts, and plenty of the standard Mech gear to be had and play around with. I also especially liked the shields and only realized the limitless potential of the shields on my second playthrough. Now I find myself skating right up to Mechs to bash them in the face with a swift shield backhand, followed by a nice burst of shotgun fire, it's downright lethal. These are the things that are critical to me in a great Mech game. The ability to customize, and wonderful combat.