View RSS Feed

Dhalamar

My opinion of the NES on a chip Atari plug and play games.

Rate this Entry
I wanna know what people think of the ones that use the NES on a chip with ports of the games on them instead of doing what the Flashback 2 does and literally re-making the entire system.

I just started playing my Atari Flashback again the other day after doing some hefty research on it, because this NES on a chip stuff kind of fascinates me in the sense that, yeah, they're remakes (I wouldn't even consider them ports really, especially Millipede on the Flashback. It may look and play like Millipede, but it's actually pretty different from the original in some ways) and they may sound different. But to me they're damn good remakes that use, for the most part, the NES hardware.

Playing Millipede on the original Flashback, it is a somewhat different game in the level layout and sounds and whatnot to the original. And it definitely ramps up in difficulty WAY too fast. But using the extra horsepower of the NES for these old Atari 2600 games is great mainly because it eliminates the problems found in those old games : the flicker.

I love Millipede ... but that flicker in the original always drove me up the way. And it's just not there on the original Flashback. And it has a somewhat cleaner overall look and feel to it with regards to the way the millipedes and other enemies move. The sound is a bit off though, I'll admit. The explosions don't have that utterly HIDEOUS sound that I love so much from the 2600.

Games that would normally use the paddle controllers like Breakout and Warlords play great with the controller too. At least for me. Having the paddle would of course be a much better option, but hey. And playing Solaris on an NES on a chip style system, hell, that game is damned near a first generation NES game on it's own anyway.