PDA

View Full Version : C64 Emulation & Zork



kynrek
05-10-11, 01:31
After listening to this months top ten I decied I had to try Zork, it was not on textadventures.co.uk so I downloaded vice (because I dont have a real C64 yet) and it seems to be taking about 5 seconds for the game to respond to text commands, was there really such a lag time on the real hardware or is this the emulator running slow?

Gordon Bennett
05-10-11, 03:43
That's about right. The real machine needs to access the disk after each command. For Infocom games I would recommend using a modern Z-code interpreter such as Frotz (http://frotz.sourceforge.net/) to run the .dat file from the game directly. IIRc Activision released the Zork trilogy as freeware several years ago, so the data files shouldn't be difficult to find.

chalksalad
05-10-11, 07:32
Just tried it on Vice and OMG it's slow!
You can always emulate it on another system. There's an Amiga version and the WinUAE emulator is excellent. More information on the game http://www.lemonamiga.com/?name=zork

miner2049er
05-10-11, 08:52
You can find it for DOS and run itin DOSBox which is much faster and there are also some Level 9 games that run on DOSBOx too.

kynrek
05-10-11, 01:35
You can find it for DOS and run itin DOSBox which is much faster and there are also some Level 9 games that run on DOSBOx too.

Thanks UK,

Does the game play differently in dos than on the commodore?

Is there a better c64 emulator I can use untill I get my hands on another real system? I thought it was strangely slow especially since it's just text I mean the c64 ran at a blazing 1mhz for crying out loud the commodore is supposed to keep up with me ;)

kynrek
05-10-11, 01:37
Just tried it on Vice and OMG it's slow!
You can always emulate it on another system. There's an Amiga version and the WinUAE emulator is excellent. More information on the game http://www.lemonamiga.com/?name=zork

Were you running the lares 32 bit build by any chance? I have a 64 bit core i5 and win7-64 but couldn't get the 64 bit version to run.

Dhalamar
05-10-11, 01:37
Or, even faster and more convenient than DOSBox ... just get a ZMachine Interpreter. At least for Infocom games. Name the device, they've probably made one for it. lol

chalksalad
05-10-11, 04:34
Thanks UK,
Is there a better c64 emulator I can use untill I get my hands on another real system? I thought it was strangely slow especially since it's just text I mean the c64 ran at a blazing 1mhz for crying out loud the commodore is supposed to keep up with me ;)

My guess is it has nothing to do with the speed of the computer. It's the notoriously slow speed of the 1541 disk drive. Every time you type in something it accesses the disk to get the reply.

Dhalamar
05-10-11, 04:49
Vice is the top tier emulator. lol

Try checking the settings and whatnot to see if there's options for the speed.

miner2049er
05-10-11, 06:54
Yeah I use Vice too but you could try CCS64 though its much more clunky to operate and probably wouldn't be much different in speed.

miner2049er
05-10-11, 06:55
BTW the z interpreter for Windows Mobile seems to work well with these games.

wongojack
06-10-11, 05:10
You can set 1541 drive speed in VICE to 200% -its in one of the menus. And if you press alt+w, Vice goes into "Warp Speed" which means that it uses as much of your computer's CPU as it can. This also speeds up the emulation to like 1900% but for Zork it wont matter and you can just go back to non-warp by pressing alt+w.

chalksalad
06-10-11, 09:17
Were you running the lares 32 bit build by any chance? I have a 64 bit core i5 and win7-64 but couldn't get the 64 bit version to run.
No idea but my system is a Core 2 duo with Windows XP in 32-bit.

kynrek
06-10-11, 01:21
You can set 1541 drive speed in VICE to 200% -its in one of the menus. And if you press alt+w, Vice goes into "Warp Speed" which means that it uses as much of your computer's CPU as it can. This also speeds up the emulation to like 1900% but for Zork it wont matter and you can just go back to non-warp by pressing alt+w.

It's pretty funny if you have warp on and hit the spacebar, it scans the keyboard so fast that I get about 10 spaces when I hit the spacebar so it looks like

grab Sack

wongojack
06-10-11, 11:59
/\/\ Something must be lost in the translation there. . . and just be sure to only 'grab Sack' in private

kynrek
07-10-11, 02:58
Ok I actually made a video to explain myself....and poke fun a socal http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M3mHrD4p4gU I also posted this in listener media under "Grab sack"

wongojack
10-10-11, 10:13
Watched your video and I feel for you. You've obviously never used a c64 and likely have never played a text adventure. Its hard to go back to those. Just think what it would have been like if you were 8 years old, could not spell and could not type - THE HORROR

This might be more fun for you to start with: http://www.homestarrunner.com/dungeonman.html
Always check the wiki: http://www.hrwiki.org/wiki/Thy_Dungeonman

An intro http://www.homestarrunner.com/sbemail94.html

kynrek
10-10-11, 10:58
I have used a c64 (I grew up on it) :) I was just poking fun like an avgn review or rage quit video. although I don't think the response time was THAT slow especially on text adventure games.

tcv
11-10-11, 04:04
The response time did seem a bit slow, but who knows... nostalgia and all that.