PDA

View Full Version : G'Day from Downunder

Kombi
18-01-11, 04:31
G'day all fellow Retro fans.
Discovered your podcast from listening to 1up/retronauts podcast just over a month ago. I started from your first episode and currently up to episode 16 (cant believe i listened to the whole drunk M.U.L.E episode it was crap lol)

I was born 1974 just north of Sydney, NSW, Australia, where I still live.
I am a train driver in Sydney (I go over the Harbour bridge a few times a day - which is Awesome to me still) and listen to a radio whilst driving, but because of the tunnels it is always dropping out so I have started listening to podcasts - this Podcast is by far my favourite to listen to.

My gaming history goes something like this:
Parents got a pong when I was very young,
Loved going to the local to shop to play the arcade machine out the front,
Went to friends and my parents friends house to play their Atari 2600's,
Got a Hand held Donkey Kong (Still have it)
Got an after school job and saved up for a Commodore 64, (Still have it)
With a mate would go every friday night to the local Arcade called '4th Dimension' for Happy Hour, cost $3 for 3 hours of Free play on all the Pinballs and Arcade machines.
Parents got a Pinball machine - loved it!
Went to mates houses and played NES and later SNES.
Got for Christmas a Sega Megadrive. (Still have it)

Now have kids and they have xbox 360, Wii, DS.

I have a gaming computer that I just finished building to play WoW on. Will be turning my old p4 computer into a MAME so will probably be on here asking questions if i get stuck. A friend of my Wife is giving me their SNES and I am currently bidding on a PS1. Also intend to get a Flashback 2 in the next few weeks.

My top 10 - Time invested into games in my youth.
1 California Games - C64
2 Donkey Kong - Game and Watch
3 Galaga - Arcade
4 Haunted House - Pinball
5 Wonderboy - Arcade
6 Madden - Sega megadrive
7 World Class Leader Board Golf - C64
8 1942/43 - Arcade