PDA

View Full Version : Favorite PC Gaming Era?

BydoEmpire73
17-12-10, 08:24
Kind of an offshoot of a conversation in the Spiderweb Software thread, what's your favorite era of PC gaming an why? I'm not really sure what hard lines there are between PC "eras" because it constantly evolves, so the lines are fuzzy. However...

For me it has to be the early-mid 90s. VGA/SoundBlaster were de-facto standards. You had a huge development community and a huge variety of games. Tons of quality and innovation, and it was the era of many of my favorite PC games of all time: Wing Commander 2, X-Com, Ultima Underworld, Doom, Civilization, MechWarrior 2. I was browsing some Dragon magazines from the mid 90s and was blown away at just how many RPGs there were. Stuff I didn't even remember, and I love CRPGs. Another factor is that I just had a lot of free time to play games then. In college and just after I graduated I could spend 8 hours on a Civ marathon. No way I'm doing that now.

Before that, in the CGA/EGA 8086 era PC games just didn't look or play as well as c64/Amiga stuff I was used to (even most VGA stuff wasn't up to Amiga quality, but at least it was in the ballpark, and the Amiga kind of died off as the 90s progressed). The quantity and variety of software was amazing.

After that, you had the early 3D era where I felt console games started to take over and the variety of hardware was a challenge to keep up with. The quantity and variety of software declined and in my opinion anyways, there was a lot more interesting stuff on consoles.

Once DirectX evolved and things standardized again there was some hope, but the development community had largely already moved to consoles. Of course, there were some great exceptions like Bioware's and Bethesda's RPGs. Morrowind is in my top 5 all time favorite games. ;)