PDA

View Full Version : New Member from Germany!

gutek
08-12-10, 03:45
Wow - I totally posted my introduction in the wrong subforum. What you get is an exact copy of what I wrote earlier. Man, I just love that the first thing I do here is spam. Enjoy!

Hey there,

thought I'd introduce myself before starting posting!

I'm a 27 year old Game Designer from Germany, started playing on a neighbors c64 around '89. Although I am somewhat of a Sega Fanboy, the first console that my parents bought me was a Game Boy. A friend of mine introduced me to the Mega Drive (or Genesis for you Americans) a few years later. My mind was blown. To this day I consider the 16-Bit era and the Mega Drive in particular to be the golden age of gaming. Some of my favorite games stem from that time (Flashback, Toejam & Earl, Sonic, Road Rash, and so on). Since my parents wouldn't drop too much cash on videogames I got an Master System II by '92 I think. Although I realized it wasn't a 16-Bit machine I still got some enjoyment out of it (Alex Kidd, Land of Illusion, 8-Bit Sonics).

After the 32X my gaming mainly happened on computers. By then I had gotten an Amiga which was given to me by my Uncle. The Amiga was a more than decent gaming machine which allowed me to play 16-Bit style games which was all I wanted, plus I got to know the classic adventures. In '95/'96 my mother got an Apple PowerPC which was soon my primary gaming machine. I loved the FMV Wing Commanders, Sim City 2000 and the 3rd Generation Lucas Arts Adventures (Full Throttle, Day of the Tentacle, Sam & Max).

In '98 I got my very own PC which was my Deus Ex machine basically. At that time my gaming was at an all time low (simply because I had other things to do at 15-19). But after a slump, I picked back up on gaming around 2003 - today I own all current consoles, am a Game Designer and started collecting all Sega machines.

SubaruBrat
08-12-10, 04:05